“What DO you like, you crabby bitch?!”, Part One

Okay, I confess that I have been on a bit of a roll with finding unsavory things to blog about. But that’s the world – and the mood – I’m living in lately. There’s a lot of bad, sad and maddening shit going on, and that’s what I’ve written about. Writing about it can be, by turns, both draining and cathartic. But even my good friends are wondering when I’m gonna get my saggy ass off the pity pot and write about something else.

Like what – raindrops on roses and fucking whiskers on kittens? 

Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens? We apologize, but Miss Julie Andrews (or Marnie Nixon – Google her) will be unable to sing in today’s performance. Taking her place will be – me.

However, in the interest of world peace and calmer karma, I’ll do a couple of posts on things I DO like. You may be surprised by some of them. This one, however, will not surprise anyone who knows me. One thing I currently love, is this book.

According to wikipedia.com, this is the story behind the story:

When Adam Mansbach’s daughter Vivien was two, she would take up to two hours to fall asleep. Exhausted and exasperated, one night Mansbach posted a note on Facebook,  “Look out for my forthcoming children’s book, Go the — to Sleep”. Following his post, friends of Mansbach responded enthusiastically, so that Mansbach began writing what was then only a hypothetical book. Mansbach had the illustrations for the picture book done by a friend, illustrator Ricardo Cortés.

When I heard about the book, I nearly peed my pants. I don’t really dislike kids, contrary to popular belief; I just find most of them to be annoying, whiny, crying, needy, demanding little shit machines who have no idea how really good they have it and never can just  . . . well, go the fuck to sleep when it’s bedtime. Enter Mr. Mansbach.

That, to me, is both whimsical and fucking genius. And that is the kind of thing I love.

More later. Or perhaps tomorrow. Until then, there will be cream-colored ponies and crisp apple streudel for all.

3 thoughts on ““What DO you like, you crabby bitch?!”, Part One

Leave a comment